Cross and Dillman earn Athlete of the Year honors

Cross and Dillman earn Athlete of the Year honors

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. -- The University of Wisconsin-Platteville athletic department held its 2012-13 Athletic Honors Banquet on Tuesday, May 7th.

One of the biggest surprises of the night came during a special award of recognition for team physician and orthopedic surgeon, Dr. Scott Schemmel. Schemmel announced after receiving the special award of thanks that he was donating $5,000 in honor of his late friend and former Pioneer football coach George Chryst to the Athletic Department.

Schemmel will be retiring as the Pioneers team physician at the end of the academic year, and has performed approximately 500 surgeries on our student-athletes and has volunteered, thousands of hours, providing care in the training room and covering events over the past two decades at UW-Platteville.

At the annual honors banquet, Deidre Dillman was recognized as the Female Athlete of the Year, and Chas Cross was selected as the Male Athlete of the Year. Dillman was She two-time All-American, she has earned all-WIAC honors 10 times and participated in the NCAA Track and Field Championships six times. Cross was named WIAC Player of the Year and a unanimous choice for the National Association of Basketball Coaches Division three West District Player of the Year. He capped of this season’s accolades by being named first-team NABC All-American.

Dillman also earned the school’s nomination for the NCAA Woman of the Year. The department's Scholar-Athletes Awards went to volleyball player Stephanie Kirchner, and track & field and football player Aaron Loferski.

Career Achievement Awards were given to track & field all-Americans Casey Goffinet, Aaron Hrubes, Jordan Olp, and Chas Spangenberg; football’s Corey Marks, Ryan McWethy, soccer’s Brandon Chmiel and Loferski.

Other award winners included:

  • Assistant Coach of the Year: Ryan Munz
  • Katie Vaassen Scholarship: Karl Hubbard, volleyball manager
  • Award of Thanks: Lindsay Dietmeier, Blaine Molesworth, Shelby Swanson, and Cheryl Valentine.